My World of Parkinsonian Delights

Have I Been Getting Boring?

Have I been getting boring? I’ve noticed an appreciable dip in the number of folks who view this blog each day.  What kind of stories would you like to read?  Let me know what I can do to make this a more interesting place for you to stop each day.

I’m more than a little dismayed by the reaction my attempt to raise money for Parkinson’s disease research has gotten from my friends on Facebook and the folks who read this blog.

When I last checked, I had some 163 of you on my Facebook Friend list.  I used to get an average of about 150 hits a day on this blog.  I have 50-some subscribers to my feed.  And yet, as of this moment, including myself, nine people have downloaded my FREE Audiobook at Podiobooks.

I know a few friends of mine on FB and on this blog have purchased the book in hardcover, paperback, eBook or Kindle. But frankly the response has been woeful and very disappointing.

Quite simply, this current book is my attempt to give something back to the researchers who are trying to cure my disease. I would think that people might like to help that effort in a small way. Prices range from $3.25 for an eBook on “Smashwords” to the grand $45 hardcover on Lulu.com. All the links for hard copy or e-book copies are on my author website, right here. And for the God-Knows-How-Manyth Time, every nickle I get from this book will be divided evenly between the National Parkinson Foundation and the Charles DBS Research Fund at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.

I assure you, my NEXT audiobook will be purely mercenary and I will selfishly keep all proceeds. The one after that, I will split the proceeds with my late older brother’s wife.

But this one is a special book. It is the book I want to be remembered by after I’m dead. It’s not maudlin, it’s not smarmy, it’s not a “feel-sorry-for-me” tome. It’s a self-effacing, sometimes hilarious look at the life of a guy who found out he had an “old man’s disease” at age 45 and how I’ve managed it over the past 10 years. Those of you who know me personally — my family, my friends, my former and current colleagues… you KNOW my sense of humor. Do you think I would write something sappy?

This is the last time I will ask. I really need your help. Please consider getting a copy of “No Doorway Wide Enough” in whatever format you choose. Spread the word to YOUR friends and family and neighbors.

If this year is like every other year, 50,000 new Americans will get the diagnosis I got in 2000. I want to do something to help cut that number. Parkinson’s doesn’t care who you are, what you do, where you live or how much money you make. It’s not just Michael J. Fox and Muhammad Ali and Brian Grant.

It’s me.  It could be one of your friends. It could be a family member of yours. Your husband.  Your wife.  If you’re past 40, it could even be you!

I’ve already spent a considerable portion of my own money to publish the book in its various formats, to promote it with websites and advertising and press releases.

For those of you who have already gotten your copy, thank you.

For those of you who haven’t, you still have time to take advantage of some July savings.

For my friends who have read this and just don’t give a rat’s ass… you already know who you are… I’m sorry for wasting your time.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

