My World of Parkinsonian Delights

The Progression Continues — and PDQ at THAT!

Redid my PDQ-39 Self-Assessment Test today.  We see the deterioration continuing.

The PDQ-39 is a self assessment in 8 areas, each question is graded from 0 to 4, 4 being worst.  Then you total and divide and come up with a score for that area.

MOBILITY

FEB – 35
JUN – 33
JUL – 35

ACTIVITIES OF DAILY LIVING

FEB – 6
JUN – 7
JUL – 7

EMOTIONAL WELL-BEING

FEB – 10
JUN – 12
JUL – 14

STIGMA OF PD

FEB – 4
JUN – 4
JUL – 4

SOCIAL SUPPORT

FEB – 0
JUN – 0
JUL – 0

(What can I say?  I have a great support system of friends and family!)

COGNITION

FEB – 7
JUN – 12
JUL – 12

COMMUNICATION SKILL

FEB – 6
JUN – 5
JUL – 7

PD-RELATED DISCOMFORT

FEB – 8
JUN – 10
JUL – 10

Then, you do some more math to come up with your PDSI, or “Single Index” number that shows where you are in the great world of PD progression

PDSI

FEB – 48.72
JUN – 53.205
JUL – 57.051

So, the progression continues.  It’s just a minor step, but this places me firmly in the Hoehn & Yahr Stage IV scale.  (The cutoff between III and IV is a PDSI of  48.95.

Funny thing, though.  In the 8 areas they monitor, I’m Stage IV in 5 of them (Mobility, Emotional Well-Being, Cognition, Communication and Discomfort), and Stage I in the other three (Activities of Daily Living, Social Support and Stigma).  I think that ADL number would be a lot higher if I didn’t work at home.  And my “Stigma” score will always be low because, frankly, I give a rat’s hiney what other folks think of me.  I do feel embarrassed when I drool in public and if I should ever loudly poop my pants at the mall, well, that number might go up, too.  But so far so good in that regard.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

