My World of Parkinsonian Delights

Fell on the Bed, Broke My Head

Well, not really.  My head isn’t broken.  But it is sore.

I was doing my PT balance exercises in the kitchen, and I noticed that I was particularly wobbly, even doing the easy stuff like two feet together, side-by-side.  Felt like I was gonna fall.  Knocked the plastic flowers and their vase off the counter.

So I decided to go into the bedroom, so if I fell it would be onto something soft.  Like a bed.  Or a dog.

I did the one-foot-half-in-front-of-the-other thingie.  Closed my eyes, crossed my arms over my chest, and immediately began to wobble.  I over-corrected from a lean to the right and fell to my left.  Right onto the bed.  Right onto a dog on the bed.  And the back of my head crashed into the bedroom wall with a loud “WHUMP!”

I said the only thing I could think of.

“OWWWW!”

From the bathroom, Gail hollered, “Are you all right?”

I said, “Yeah,” and flopped back on the bed, closing my eyes so the room would stop spinning.

I didn’t lose consciousness.  But for a little while it was more difficult than usual to speak.

I’m still wobbly, still moving slower than I usually do, but I think I will be OK.

So will the wall.

Leave a Reply

