My World of Parkinsonian Delights

A Quick Note to the Universe…

A quick note, if you don’t mind, to whoever or whatever in the Universe is in charge of life and death and sickness?

LEAVE MY F*CKING FAMILY ALONE!!!

In 2004 my family suffered the loss of my twin brother.  Then in 2008, my older brother.  Then in 2009, my older sister.  We lost my dad in 1983.  My mom has been in and out of hospitals and outpatient care and is having trouble healing from an injury.

And today, I learn that one of my nieces (who I will not mention by name to preserve her privacy — if you are my niece and it’s not you, sleep well tonight) suffered a stroke on Wednesday.  She is a young girl.  A young mother.  Just had a baby in the past few weeks.  And on Wednesday her mother wakes up because the baby is crying and finds my niece slumped on the edge of her bed with her left side paralyzed.  She was airlifted to the hospital where she had a portion of her skull removed to alleviate brain swelling, and is in a medically induced coma.  No one can say if she will pull through.  No one can say what her life will be like if she does pull through.

I know families endure tragedy every day.  I know shit like this happens.  I’m just sick of it happening to my family.  I think we deserve a break.

Prayers, good thoughts, positive energy and all that.  Thanks.

UPDATE: Just talked to her Mom, and she’s awake, moving all her limbs, talking and likely to make a full recovery.  Thanks for the good wishes.

Leave a Reply

