My World of Parkinsonian Delights

Bug Poison + Mean Genes = PD? Could Be!

Bug Poison + Mean Genes = PD?  Could Be!  At least, some French scientists think so.

But first…

Been kinda busy and distracted with my new book website today.  But it’s starting to get some hits.  Hopefully, we start selling some books so I can cut a decent check to the two Parkinson’s disease charities I’ve agreed to help.

Anyway, one thing I forgot to mention from yesterday’s neurology visit — I told Dr. Grill that I’m having difficulty shifting from one task to another.  For instance, I’ll be doing something for a podcast for work, then realize I have to do something to change the script, so I’ll switch from the audio software to the word processor, then forget what the hell it was I was supposed to change.  The good doctor said that shows I may be having some difficulty with executive function.  That means I can’t use the executive bathroom any more.  And Mr. Spacely will NEVER promote me to Vice President!

Oh, yeah… there’s some Research News today.

Although this doesn’t really ring “new” to me.  Seems like every other week we’re reading about pesticides leading to PD.

Here’s today’s story.

Men with certain genetic variations who were exposed to some toxic pesticides which are now largely banned run an increased risk of developing Parkinson’s disease, French scientists said Monday.

Researchers found that among men exposed to pesticides such as DDT, carriers of the gene variants were three and a half times more likely to develop Parkinson’s than those with the normal version of the gene.

The scientists, whose work was published in the Archives of Neurology journal, think the brains of people with the gene variant fail to flush out toxins as efficiently as those with normal versions of the gene, suggesting environmental as well as genetic factors are important in the risk of Parkinson’s.

Maybe.  Maybe.  But my identical twin brother and I used to run through the clouds of mosquito spray they laid down at the baseball park on a warm summer night cuz it smelled good.  And he didn’t get PD… although he did die of a stroke at age 49.

Soooooooooo………?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

