My World of Parkinsonian Delights

New Cappuccino, More Flies, and a Realization

We solved the cappuccino maker problem by buying a new one, and we may have also put a crimp in our Amityville Elkridge Horror situation as well.

The dogs stood close guard while Gail and I went out shopping.

Purchased a new Cuisinart EM-200 Programmable Espresso Maker.  Turns out I may have been packing the grounds in our old espresso maker too tightly, and that ruined the pump.  When I first tried making coffee in this one, the water wouldn’t pump through the grounds.  So I watched the DVD that came with it, and it said to pack the grounds firmly — but not TOO tightly.  Made a nice cup of coffee.  Problem solved.

Gail discovered some areas under the furnace and under TJ’s bathroom sink where flies were getting in.  A heavy spraying, and then she left a panel on the underskirting open for awhile to let whatever flies are in there escape.  Hopefully, problem solved.

Then, the realization.  I had planned to go down to Bethesda for our staff meeting by myself, sparing Gail the task of having to drive me down and back.  But walking through the mall proved that I’m a subway tragedy waiting to happen.  I freeze up when people suddenly come up along side me.  I freeze when they walk in front of me.  And the subway is a pushing, shoving, get-out-of-my-way sort of environment.  Even before things progressed to where they are now, I was a moving obstacle to the other rush hour rushers.  Once, this little cutie even yelled, “Get out of the way!” at me.  How charming.

So, we finally decided that I am unable to travel on the trains by myself.  Gail will take me to Bethesda for this meeting.  And maybe we’ll even get home alive.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

