My World of Parkinsonian Delights

I'll MAKE Me Some PD Awareness!

It’s really not like me to just sit around and gripe about stuff when there’s something I can do about it.

We had a lively discussion on Facebook yesterday about how we’re nearing the end of Parkinson’s Disease Awareness month, and there’s been very little in the media to make folks any more aware of this bastard disease that afflicts 1.5 million Americans, with 50,000 new diagnoses every year.

I went the press release route once before when “Deep Brain Diary: My Life as a Guy with Parkinson’s Disease and Brain Surgery Volunteer” was first published.  I had minimal success.  So I went bigger.

I started accounts at WiredPRNews and PRWeb, wrote a press release, spent a couple hundred bucks, and as of right now the press release has been delivered to nearly 4,000 media outlets, radio, TV, print and online.

Now, without tooting my own horn here, this is an interesting human interest feature.  A guy who has a disease, who volunteers for an experimental operation, risking his life (minimally), then writing a book about it and donating 100 percent of the proceeds to PD research efforts of the National Parkinson Foundation and the Vanderbilt University Medical Center’s DBS Research Fund.  (Toot!) If I were an editor or news director (which I was), I would think this would be a worthwhile story to pursue.

But for reasons I discussed in a post yesterday, I won’t be surprised if this effort is as successful as my previous one. And that’s a shame.

I will reap no financial benefit from the sale of the book.  But I would like more folks to know about it.

So I ask you, as a reader of this blog, to “Tweet”, or “Digg” or “Stumble” or use ANY or ALL of the social networking buttons at the bottom of this post to get out the word.

And I invite you to become a fan of …

Parky Bill’s World of Earthly Delights and Books

The more the merrier, as they say.  And for each book and each cap and each mug and each thong bikini underpants (yes, I am selling thong bikini underpants), 100 percent of the proceeds will go to the groups mentioned above.

Like I said, it’s one thing to sit around and bitch.  It’s something quite different to DO something about it.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

